Live Updates From The 2021 BET Awards

Written by on June 28, 2021

Written by BET Workers

Technique Man, Busta Rhymes, Swizz Beatz And Others Give A Becoming Tribute To DMX

10:45 p.m.ET/7:45 p.m. PT: Rappers took to the stage to honor the reminiscence of DMX. Busta Rhymes, Technique Man, Swizz Beatz and Griselda delivered highly effective performances in tribute to the late hip hop legend.

Technique Man obtained issues began with an acapella circulate, adopted by Griselda, which then opened as much as a rendition of “The place The ‘Hood At.” What got here subsequent was a medley of X’s and Ruff Ryders anthems together with “Celebration Up (Up In Right here),” lead by Busta Rhymes and Swizz Beatz.

Andra Day Channels Billie Vacation

10:45 p.m.ET/7:45 p.m. PT: After profitable the Greatest Actress award, Andra Day serenaded the viewers with a medley of songs from her movie The US vs. Billie Vacation. She started with the jazz and blues legend’s signature track, “Unusual Fruit.”
 

Megan Thee Stallion Is The Viewer’s Selection

10:45 p.m.ET/7:45 p.m. PT: The wins hold coming for Megan Thee Stallion. This time, she gained the Viewer’s Selection Award for “Savage (Remix).” that includes Beyoncé. “Everyone is aware of how a lot I like Beyoncé,” Megan stated, paying tribute to Bey and displaying us the facility of manifesting. Meg stated she put it out into the universe that she needed to collab with Bey, and it occurred. Meg actually had her arms filled with trophies on the finish of this 12 months’s awards!
 

DJ Khaled Anchors Star-Studded Efficiency

10:45 p.m.ET/7:45 p.m. PT: DJ Khaled introduced down the home along with his efficiency of “I Did it.” He obtained some assist from some massive identify artists, together with Lil Child, Lil Durk, Dababy and Megan Thee Stallion.

Queen Latifah Acknowledged For Her Superb Profession

10:45 p.m.ET/7:45 p.m. PT: Queen Latifah earned a Lifetime Achievement Award on the 2021 BET Awards. In step with the theme, The 12 months of the Black Girl, Latifah thanked her mom, “a powerful Black girl.” She additionally urged girls to unite. “Collectively, we stand stronger than after we tear one another aside,” she stated.

Associated: BET Awards 2021: Hip Hop Legends Honor Queen Latifah With Lifetime Achievement Award

Metropolis Ladies Shake It On Stage

10:45 p.m.ET/7:45 p.m. PT: Host Taraji P. Henson took out her map of the world to provide the viewers a historical past lesson on the origins of the Twerk, which she joked originated in Africa. After her lesson, The Metropolis Ladies put the lesson into motion with their efficiency of their hit “Twerkulator.”

Burna Boy Wins Greatest Worldwide Act

10:45 p.m.ET/7:45 p.m. PT: Nigerian singer and songwriter Burna Boy introduced his mother on stage to take dwelling the Greatest Worldwide Act award. His breakout second got here in 2012 with the discharge of “Wish to Celebration,” the highest single from his debut studio album L.I.F.E.

For all of the night time’s winners, click on here.

Lil Child Wins Greatest Male Hip Hop Artist

10:30 p.m.ET/7:30 p.m. PT: Following his wonderful efficiency with Kirk Franklin to open the award present, Lil Child gained the Greatest Male Hip Hop Artist award. He topped an inventory of nominees that included DaBaby, Drake and Jack Harlow.

For all of the night time’s winners, click on here.

Lil Nas X Excites The Viewers With ‘Montero’

10:10 p.m.ET/7:10 p.m. PT: The tradition’s largest night time had many massive performances. One in all them was Lil Nas X’s efficiency of his hit “MONTERO,” his second primary hit on the Billboard 100 after his breakout smash “Outdated City Street.”

In his efficiency, he took the stage carrying an Egyptian pharaoh outfit. He paid homage to Michael Jackson’s 1992 “Bear in mind the Time” video, and ended the efficiency with a shock nobody noticed coming, however was becoming throughout Satisfaction Month!

Roddy Ricch Performs His Hit ‘Late At Evening’

10:00 p.m.ET/7:00 p.m. PT: Roddy Ricch by no means fails to impress. He carried out his most up-to-date single, “Late at Evening,” in tribute to Michael Jackson’s Thriller. He confirmed out, wearing all white, together with his white shades, as he electrified the viewers.

Jazmine Sullivan Performs With Maxine Waters and Ari Lennox, Then Wins Album Of The 12 months

9:20 p.m.ET/6:20 p.m. PT: “Reclaiming my time!” stated Rep. Maxine Waters, delivering her signature phrase on the BET Awards to kick off Jazmine Sullivan’s efficiency with R&B singer Ari Lennox.

Sullivan later gained Album of the 12 months and delivered an emotional speech. The artist walked as much as the stage along with her mom and revealed that her mother was identified two years in the past with breast most cancers. “However God is so devoted to us,” she stated. “My mother is now in remission.”

It’s Been A Massive Evening For Megan

9:20 p.m.ET/6:20 p.m. PT: After a surprising efficiency and getting the nod for Greatest Video, Megan Thee Stallion took dwelling the award for Greatest Feminine Hip Hop Artist. The opposite nominees on this class included Cori Leray, Doja Cat and Saweetie.
 

For all of the night time’s winners, click on here.

Tyler The Creator Makes His BET Awards Debut

9:20 p.m.ET/6:20 p.m. PT: One of many distinctive performances of the night time got here from Tyler the Creator. He recreated the windy, outside set from his music video from his single “Lumberjack” and definitely made his mark in his first-ever BET Awards look.

Video Of The 12 months Goes To Megan Thee Stallion

9:20 p.m.ET/6:20 p.m. PT: The wins hold coming for Megan Thee Stallion on the BET Awards. The night time’s most celebrated artist added one other statue to her assortment with the Video of the 12 months award, for “WAP.” She thanked Cardi B for “placing her on WAP,” which set the web on hearth when it debuted final 12 months. On the Grammys, the duo delivered a efficiency of their hit collabo that also has folks speaking, however with pregnant Cardi probably needing a break after working time beyond regulation throughout her efficiency earlier within the night time, Meg held it down for each of them whereas accepting the award.

For all of the night time’s winners, click on here.

Megan Thee Stallion Offers Electrical Efficiency Of “Thot Sh*t”

8:50 p.m.ET/5:50 p.m. PT: Megan Thee Stallion confirmed us why she’s up for a number of awards this 12 months. She delivered an electrifying efficiency of her newest single “Thot Sh*t” that proves this breakout artist by no means fails to ship. Megan already gained two awards — Greatest Video and Greatest Feminine Hip Hop Artist — and is competing for Greatest Collaboration, in addition to the coveted Greatest Album of the 12 months.

Greatest Feminine R&B/Pop Artist Goes To H.E.R.

9:00 p.m.ET/6:00 p.m. PT: In a area of opponents that included Beyoncé and Jazmine Sullivan, H.E.R. gained the BET Award for Greatest Feminine R&B/Pop Artist.

H.E.R. was actually a one-woman band on the awards present throughout her efficiency, taking part in each instrument herself.

DaBaby Rocked The Home

8:40 p.m.ET/5:40 p.m. PT: DaBaby took the stage on the BET Awards and had the viewers jamming. He’s competing in a number of totally different classes tonight, together with Greatest Male Hip Hop Artist and Album of the 12 months.

Andra Day Wins Greatest Actress

8:40 p.m.ET/5:40 p.m. PT: Andre Day gained the Greatest Actress Award in opposition to a area of nominees that included veterans like Viola Davis and Angela Bassett for her function as Billie Vacation within the Lee Daniels-directed movie The US vs. Billie Vacation.

“I actually didn’t count on it,” stated a surprised Day, who was nominated for an Academy Award for enjoying the blues legend in her debut starring function in a movie.

For all of the night time’s winners, click on here.

Silk Sonic Wins Greatest Group Award

8:30 p.m.ET/5:30 p.m. PT: Silk Sonic’s Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak took dwelling the Greatest Group trophy on the BET Awards.

“To the followers patiently ready, Andy and I promise y’all, it’s gonna be well worth the wait,” Mars stated referring to the group’s upcoming debut album. “Right here’s to y’all,” he added.

For all of the night time’s winners, click on here.

Cardi B Is Pregnant!

8:20 p.m.ET/5:20 p.m. PT: Cardi B surprised her followers with a giant shock on the BET Awards. The rapper confirmed off her child bump with a shock cameo throughout Migos’ efficiency. Congrats, Cardi and Offset on child #2!

Taraji P. Henson Kicks Off BET Awards By Recognizing Black Queens With Literal Flowers

8:10 p.m.ET/5:10 p.m. PT: “Tonight you’re going to get 100 % of our full Blackness,” host Taraji P. Henson informed the viewers assembled for the 2021 BET Awards, including that this 12 months we’re celebrating Black girls specifically.

“Celebrating Black girls isn’t a fad or a pattern. It’s a endlessly temper, OK,” Henson continued. Then, vowing to provide Black girls their flowers, she actually handed out roses to queens within the viewers, together with Maxine Waters, Issa Rae and Zendaya.

Kirk Franklin & Lil Child Get The Celebration Began

8:00 p.m.ET/5:00 p.m. PT: Gospel music icon Kirk Franklin and hip hop star Lil Child kicked-off the BET Awards with a robust opening efficiency of their collab hit “We Win.”

“Don’t you understand you’re Black and delightful,” Franklin informed the viewers, in line with the night time’s theme of celebrating Black folks, and particularly Black girls.

Zendaya Stuns In Throw Again Gown In Homage To Beyonce

7:30 p.m.ET/4:30 p.m. PT: Zendaya used her second on the pink carpet on the BET Awards to pay tribute to an icon, and social media seen. The Malcolm & Marie actress surprised in a purple and inexperienced breezy robe, that clearly is an homage to the Versace look that Beyoncé wore on the 2003 BET Awards.

Bree Runway Wins Greatest New Worldwide Act Award

7:30 p.m.ET/4:30 p.m. PT: Congratulations to the night’s first winner!

Bree Runway gained the Viewer’s Selection: Greatest New Worldwide Act. The British performer confronted competitors from France, Nigeria, South Africa and Brazil.

Award presenter Terrence J stated Runway couldn’t be on the award present this 12 months, so he accepted it on her behalf.

For all of the night time’s winners, click on here.

Lil Nas X Reveals Off Slamming Outfits On The Pink Carpet

6:45 p.m.ET/3:45 p.m. PT: Lil Nas X graced the pink carpet on the BET Awards in not one, however two beautiful outfits. The primary was a jaw-dropping robe in cream and pastel blue:
 

A really quick time later, the rapper made a fast outfit change right into a pantsuit with Elvis vibes:
 

The “Montero” singer shall be performing throughout the present later this night.

For extra pink carpet appears to be like, click on here.

2021 BET Awards Will get Began With Celebs Strolling The Pink Carpet

6:30 p.m.ET/3:30 p.m. PT: Tradition’s largest night time is underway! Black star energy was on full show with celebs strolling the pink carpet for the 2021 BET awards on the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles.

Award-winning actress Taraji P. Henson, who’s internet hosting the night’s festivities, made a stunning look. Lil Nas X and Coi Leray additionally walked the carpet and didn’t disappoint. They’re just some of the celebs out tonight, with many extra coming by because the pink carpet continues!

This 12 months’s theme is “12 months of the Black Girl.” Stick with us all through the night as we submit can’t miss moments.

For extra pink carpet appears to be like, click on here.

(Picture by Johnny Nunez/Getty Pictures for BET)


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply


Current track

Title

Artist

Current show

Classic Showcase

10:00 am 1:00 pm

Current show

Classic Showcase

10:00 am 1:00 pm

Background