Warning: include(/homepages/27/d697122310/htdocs/app706110899/wp-content/themes/onair2-child/functions.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /homepages/27/d697122310/htdocs/app706110899/wp-settings.php on line 499

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/homepages/27/d697122310/htdocs/app706110899/wp-content/themes/onair2-child/functions.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php7.2') in /homepages/27/d697122310/htdocs/app706110899/wp-settings.php on line 499
Toro Y Moi shares new album, Outer Peace: Stream – B87FM

Toro Y Moi shares new album, Outer Peace: Stream

Written by on January 10, 2019

Toro Y Moi is set to return next week, January 18th, with his new album, Outer Peace. In anticipation, you can listen to an advanced stream of the 10-track LP via NPR.

The follow-up to 2017’s Boo Boo, Outer Peace finds Toro Y Moi mastermind Chaz Bear taking his sound in a funky new direction. A number of collaborators assisted him in “music for a creative mind,” icluding WET (“Monte Carlo”), ABRA (“Miss Me”), and Instupendo (“50-50”).

Speaking with NPR, Bear called that latter collaboration one of his favorite songs on the LP:

“It’s very forwardly pop. It’s more of a straightforward pop song, and that’s something that I’ve always been afraid to attack: something that’s so simple, it’s just a sub and vocals with Auto-Tune. To me, that recipe was always like, ‘Eh, that’s cliché.’ But to take those cliché elements and try to do something fresh with it was the challenge, and I really enjoyed that.”

Bear also said Outer Space is geared towards computer-based creatives. “Technology is allowing people to become creative at home and become almost like entrepreneurs just from their desks,” he said. “I felt like that’s who I really wanted to connect with [on this album] — the people that are grinding behind the computer in a creative way.”

The album was previewed with the singles “Ordinary Pleasure” and “Freelance”. Stream the entire thing over at NPR, and watch the “Freelance” video below. Toro Y Moi will support the album with a short winter tour.

[embedded content]

Outer Peace Artwork:

Toro Y Moi Outer Peace Album Cover Artwork

Toro Y Moi Outer Peace Album Cover Artwork

Outer Peace Tracklist:
01. Fading
02. Oridnary Pleasure
03. Laws of the Universe
04. Miss Me (feat. ABRA)
05. New House
06. Baby Drive It Down
07. Freelance
08. Who Am I
09. Monte Carlo (feat. WET)
10. 50-50 (feat. Instupendo)

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Current track



Current show


10:00 pm 12:00 am

Current show


10:00 pm 12:00 am